I Don’t Know What To Do With Myself Anymore

It’s hard to have motivation to do something when you don’t have anyone supporting you. Ever since I was younger, I have always wanted to try new things, like ice skating, dance, singing lessons, a youtube channel, or participate in a talent show. People look at me like I’m crazy when I say, “I want to try this,” and “I want to sign up for that.” It’s hard to go through with something, especially when you don’t have anyone to share it with who will actually appreciate what you’re doing (even your parents).

I really should motivate myself and get inspired on my own, but being a teenager with not one “friend” who supports me or cares about anything I accomplish and want to attempt is frustrating. I have nobody to talk to or share things with, so I keep everything inside. I can’t even be happy around anyone because they will ruin it by making it seem insignificant. What am I allowed to be happy about? How am I even supposed to be happy if there is no communication between people and appreciation for anything? I have so many dreams that I could’ve achieved, but people would stop me on the way. I shouldn’t let people stop me, but I’m still growing mentally, physically, and socially, so I do need guidance of some sort. 

I hate myself for living 16 years of my life and feeling like I haven’t accomplished anything at all. I feel like such a waste. I should be on stage and performing or expressing my talent and putting myself out there, but I need someone who will be there to support me when I feel as if I wouldn’t want to continue or thinking I wouldn’t be successful. Life’s just not fair, I have so much potential to be successful, but I don’t know what to do with my talents and hobbies. In order to be successful, you need to know people. I don’t know anybody, and my parents don’t know anybody either because they’re loners like me. This family sucks.

I feel isolated from the rest of the world, I feel inferior to everybody. I feel as if I won’t be successful or happy because I see things differently and have different dreams and beliefs. I feel as if people accomplished more in one month than I ever will in my whole life. All I need is some consistent support and help.

Author: Emilie

traveler musician alto sax, clarinet, piano, guitar, oboe poet songwriter

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Know What To Do With Myself Anymore”

  1. I know how you feel, this feeling comes over me often. But when it does, the best thing to do is to pray to God- He can change anything into something good and He will work in you to improve you in a good way. Remember, God has put you where you are for a reason. Always remember to pray! 🙂 God bless!

  2. Hey Emilie, I am a performer, and I had the same issues growing up. It is NEVER too late to start anything! A friend of mine started dance at 20 and is now working on cruise ships. You need to do what’s right for you and stop worrying about what other people think. I know that’s hard, but once you stick to your guns and start to follow through on things like dance classes etc.. people will admire you. At the moment they are probably shutting you down because they never got to do those things so why should you (especially your parents) But OF CORSE you should do those things! try everything, at least once, find out what makes you happy and pursue your dreams! You deserve it

    1. thank you! it’s just difficult to start new things, but once I take the first step I’ll be happy I took risks and I won’t regret it, even if I don’t enjoy something, at least I tried! thanks again:) xx

Leave a Reply

