Fight Against My Own Mind

my mind is running wild

i can’t keep it tamed

it jumps around and causes pain.

from thought to thought, there is no break

another day of self conflict.

I want it to stop, it needs to now

it’s breaking me up, I need to shout them out.

my mind takes over, my body follows,

it’s a game between my mind and heart that’s so shallow.

I’m trying to run from myself,

but i end up falling into hell,

and find my head burning and spinning,

I yell and cry for help.

the one who has caused this

will always be me

so I have to take my own hand

and guide myself to set my mind free.

this fight against myself will end,

I will win against my mind

I will stand taller and stronger to leave it behind

Author: Emilie

traveler musician alto sax, clarinet, piano, guitar, oboe poet songwriter

Leave a Reply

