The City In Me

I want to wake up and go on the rooftop

To get some fresh air and let the wind blow in my hair

Watch the sun rise until it’s all the way up high

Appreciate the city in daylight, no neon lights

To have a view of everyone and their dreams is a dream for me

So many different people and stories I would pay to hear and see

To see the daytime workers transition to night time party hoppers

Everyone’s different lifestyle makes the city complete, diverse, and unique

Money or nothing, there’s always something to see

The struggle to live here makes me a part of the jungle

To live in a great city and experience life, that is the beauty

So wake me up and bring me to the rooftop

Author: Emilie

traveler musician alto sax, clarinet, piano, guitar, oboe poet songwriter

Leave a Reply

