Oh Shit, I’m Graduating Already?

It’s almost two o’clock in the morning after watching The Spectacular Now on a random night in March and it just hit me. I’m graduating this year. I’m going to be an adult. I’m going to have to get a job and stick with it. No more games and procrastinating and bullshitting my way through tasks.

 I always thought I would be excited to graduate, I mean I still am. But I’ve been around the same people and environment all my life, so what the hell am I supposed to expect? These are the last few months with my high school friends, enemies. Even though I never really got along with many people, they’re still people who were part of my life and put me in situations that made me who I am. It scares me not knowing who I’ll be with after this. Where am I going to end up? What type of people will I surround myself with? Where will I live? Will I even have money?

I wasted so much time not fulfilling my goals and dreams. When you have time, you spend too much of it waiting to take action, but never do. Wow? high school really does end. I didn’t have the best time of my life but it felt like this was my only life for a while. I wish I could easily adapt to change, but I’m the opposite. I don’t mind change, but it’s hard for me to accept and get used to. I hope I’ll go for my dreams and I’ll be where I have always seen myself. I need it. I need to prove that there will still be life filled with youthful happiness after high school. 

Author: Emilie

traveler musician alto sax, clarinet, piano, guitar, oboe poet songwriter

Leave a Reply

